David Vernon’s Post

View profile for David Vernon, graphic

Operations Director at Candidsky

The biggest mistake I made early on in my career... Not using my intuition enough. Every time I got 'stuck' on something like converting a doc to a PDF, I asked for help. When in reality, I could just use my intuition and Google it - therefore not bothering my colleagues on something so simple. Believe it or not, asking for help on problems that have simplistic solutions comes across as lazy to management. And the more you depend on your seniors for simple tasks, the less trust points you get for that promotion you're aiming for in 12 months time. Leaders need to know they can depend on you even when they're not around. And you need to have the answers to 80% of stuff. That's not to say don't ask for help. Just reserve that power for things you ACTUALLY need help with. Research and diagnose first, and if you can't find the answer you're looking for, ask away. On a less serious note, Googling things is a genuine skill. Get good at it and you'll be unstoppable.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics