WRUP: What I think I could realistically accomplish in various musical genres edition

    
20
boab

Pop: I would technically manage to be a one-hit wonder with my song “Summertime Crying,” but mostly because the track that gets released to the radio is the incorrect one wherein the bassist and I spend time smoking pot and making fun of various Pokémon. Nintendo copyright claims that recording, but by that point the damage is done and “dopey gross Pikachu” becomes a meme for a month.

Rap: My style would be described as “funky stale” before I am thrown off a bridge by an aging MC Hammer in an act of desperate salvation. He stares into the middle distance afterwards and cries, then passes on. It’s hella tragic.

Progressive Rock: We record the longest ever progressive rock song at 14 straight hours during which the drummer breaks an arm and our harpsichord player literally dies. Of course we have a harpsichord player. Why wouldn’t we have a harpsichord player?

Country: After seventeen platinum hits such as “I Ain’t From Texas (But You Might Be),” “My Truck Has Seven Flags,” and “Ain’t Seen No DKNY Stores In Georgia,” someone finally listens to one of the songs and discovers that it’s actually just me drawling the word “y’all” for forty-five minutes straight. I am sued many, many times, and I will deserve it.

What Are You Playing: I’m making it a genre.

Bonus question: When you don’t have to wake up early, how late do you like to sleep?

Brianna Royce (@nbrianna, blog): I feel like I’m finally getting settled after our trip, and now I don’t know what to play. Maybe I’ll head into City of Heroes? Nothing is calling to me all that urgently.

8:24 a.m.

Carlo Lacsina (@UltraMudkipEX, YouTube, Twitch): I’m in deep with these dang gacha games. I’ll be playing through Wuthering Waves, the just released Zenless Zone Zero, and making progress on building up my break team in Honkai Star Rail. I’m at my limit for gacha games.., I think three is all I can manage!

If I don’t wake up early, 8:00 a.m. Honestly though, in a perfect world I’d like to be up by 6:45 regardless because I like the feeling of waking up early with nothing to do

Chris Neal (@wolfyseyes, blog): I’ve cleared the story quests of Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail, so now it’s working towards new gear, learning the new encounters, and working my way towards deeper understanding of the Viper. Plus there are other jobs to level to 100 as well. Still lots to do.

Honestly, my body won’t let me sleep in unless I’m absolutely steamrolled; even with my alarm off I manage to wake up at quarter to 6:00 a.m. most of the time. I wish it would stop.

Eliot Lefebvre (@Eliot_Lefebvre, blog): Having finished FFXIV’s story, I only have every zone to clear of Shared FATEs, some 20-odd more jobs to level, more gear to get, and an ever-deepening mastery of Viper to use to shred foes into mincemeat. (I am doing very good at that.) So I should be done in about a month.

I would rather not sleep at all, but I usually wind up at 10:00 a.m. or so.

Justin Olivetti (@Sypster, blog): I’m still gunning to get a small army of World of Warcraft characters to 70 in Pandaria remix – five down, two to go! Other than that, I’ll be adventuring in The Elder Scrolls Online’s Greenshade and in the Umbar undercity in Lord of the Rings Online.

Sam Kash (@thesamkash): With the holiday week I haven’t sat down long enough to actually complete the recent Harry Potter Magic Awakened seasonal story. So I think I’ll find a chance to do that. I’m also going to get a little bit of MultiVersus in as well. It’s fun way to hang with some friends. Although the couch co-op is lacking.

Bonus: When I was was a single person, I’d sleep until 10 or even 11 easily. However as I am now, I get up at 8 to 8:15. If I really have nothing to do, I’ll sleep until 9 at the absolute latest.

Tyler Edwards (blog): I’m playing The First Descendant at the moment. I feel like I’m already starting to run out of steam with it a bit, but I’ll give it another day or two at least.

Bonus question: 10 a.m.

Every Saturday, join the Massively OP community and staff for What Are You Playing, our roundup of what MMORPGs and other games we’re hoping to play this weekend (with a bonus question or two for our amusement). Tell us what you’re up to! Go off-topic! And don’t forget to have fun!
Advertisement
Previous articleThe Daily Grind: Are you hooked on that ‘new character smell’ in MMOs?
Next articleElder Scrolls Online previews Update 43’s home tours feature and Infinite Archive additions

No posts to display

Subscribe
20 Comments
newest
oldest most liked
Inline Feedback
View all comments