Favourite books of 2023: non-fiction edition

Well, we’ve had part 1 and part 2 of my favourite fiction books of the year, so thoughts turn to the non-fiction that I’ve read.

It’s a much shorter list, don’t worry.

First up is Failure is an Option by Matt Whyman. My first non-fiction and audiobook of the year. Matt Whyman goes from being an average runner taking on the Saturday morning 5k parkrun to someone who runs ultras, and ultimately taking on the famed Dragon’s Back Race, a six-day event some consider to be amongst the toughest. Funny, honest, and told with a wry sense of wit, I loved this book. Though I think I’ll stick to parkrun and the weekend trail run through the woods, I must admit I did look at a couple of longer running events…

Then we’ve got a couple of books by Emily Chappell, former cycle courier, long-distance tourer, and ultra-endurance racer.

What Goes Around: A London Cycle Courier’s Story had been on my wishlist for a LONG time, and I finally got around to picking up a copy. Loved it, the stories of Emily’s time as a cycle courier zipping through the streets, delivering packages, the club-like feel of the courier’s world, all brilliantly told. London is a huge character in this book, and there’s a real love that shines through.

Where There’s a Will: Hope, Grief and Endurance in a Cycle Race Across a Continent follows Emily’s move from being a cycle courier to a trans-continental bike racer. The Transcon is a race across Europe, unsupported, in the shortest time possible. She won the women’s event on her second attempt, covering almost 4,000 miles in 13 days and ten hours. It’s a wonderful memoir, with extraordinary challenges, highs and lows along the way both physically and emotionally. Fabulous book. I can also highly recommend Emily’s newsletter on Substack.

Last but by no means least, there’s Coffee First, Then the World: One Woman’s Record-Breaking Pedal Around the Planet by Jenny Graham (no relation). I went along to Jenny’s talk in Leeds and got her to sign my copy of her book

Fabulous book about her challenge to become the fastest woman to cycle around the world unsupported. I also picked up the audiobook, narrated by Jenny herself and can highly recommend it. It’s funny and honest and scary in places, and with a wit and joy to the adventure that is just so enjoyable to read.

Told you it was a shorter list! All about bikes and adventures and fabulous people doing incredible things.

Stay tuned for the last part of my list – some 2024 titles to look out for!

Author: dave

Book reviewer, occasional writer, photographer, coffee-lover, cyclist, spoon carver and stationery geek.

One thought on “Favourite books of 2023: non-fiction edition”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.