Laptop suggestions for a Physics Student

• Thread starter warhammer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Laptop
warhammer
Hi. I am looking to buy a new laptop. I am looking primarily for a laptop that can last for a decent amount of time. I would be using it for- Scientific Programming, Study, Work & generic purposes (surfing etc).

I've had bad experiences with mid-range Windows laptops which have had issues emerge out around the 3 year mark. I was thinking of buying a Macbook (M1 Air 8GB RAM/256GB SSD is still available at certain outlets) but then again I have never used an Apple product before and I'm not sure about a lot of things.

Could someone suggest if the M1 variant I mentioned above meets all my needs without niggling issues of heating, lagging and can also last-long, or, should I be looking at a Business Windows Laptop (please suggest a model that you're personally familiar with, else I feel chances of failure are high)? Please bear in mind that the main buying criteria apart from my use-purpose is the long lasting part (I want it to go for atleast 5 years +). Requesting any suggestions/recommendations from fellow PF Members!

I have also added a useful Questionnaire below that I found on reddit~

Total budget (in local currency) and country of purchase. Please do not use USD unless purchasing in the US:
IN (India), 85k INR or approx. 1100 USD

Are you open to refurbs/used?
No

How would you prioritize form factor (ultrabook, 2-in-1, etc.), build quality, performance, and battery life?
Longevity>Performance>Battery Life>Build Quality>FF

How important is weight and thinness to you?
Not too much unless it is in 'bulky' category.

Do you have a preferred screen size? If indifferent, put N/A.
N/A

Are you doing any CAD/video editing/photo editing/gaming? List which programs/games you desire to run.
N/A

If you're gaming, do you have certain games you want to play? At what settings and FPS do you want?
N/A