assassinscreedguy

No Longer a Noob
Mar 29, 2012
So I think most fans are in agreement that Konami (aka Great Satan) has its boot on the neck of MGS at the moment, and any MGS product they churn out without the creative direction of the series' creator would be an abomination (enter MG Pachinko). But things change, and the video game industry, particularly in Japan, is a fickle beast. Would you be willing to accept a new MG title, or a MG reboot, if Konami management changes or the property is licensed out? And if so, under what conditions?

Just curious, b/c I'm a game design student specializing in writing for games, and working on a MGS remake is my impossible pipe dream [face_tongue] I'm thinking about making a thread on here with some ideas for how I would handle remaking the old games, but if the fans are totally opposed to anything that isn't straight from the hand of Kojima, I'll hold off.

nickzambuto

No Longer a Noob
Nov 8, 2010
Only under very strict circumstances. Those circumstances are listed as follows:

1) It must be good.

That's it. If Konami is capable of making good MG games without Kojima, then that would be awesome news.

ghos2

Almost Not a Noob
May 31, 2009
Missouri
I would prefer the Metal Gear series to be left untouched because I think it has long since run its course, not to mention that Kojima is done with it. It had a good run, and I'd hate to see it get milked to death by Konami (which is already happening with Snake Eater Pachislot).

That said, if someone could come along and make a good Metal Gear game without disrespecting Kojima's legacy, I won't have any reason to complain.

Mortified_Penguin

Oppai Senpai
Apr 13, 2010
Mother Base
As much as I hate Konami, if a Metal Gear game comes out with high production values, a good story (although preferably a new canon) and the game is actually good, I can see myself buying it.