powerfulone1987

No Longer a Noob
Jun 23, 2005
I just started playing Uncharted: Drake's Fortune for the first time today.

The game started off good. Enjoyed the atmosphere, the story intro and the characters. Loved the exploration and the back and forth between the characters.

Then the shooting started.

Now this game has been out for years so I've heard many things about the shooting and wasn't caught off guard. I was just thinking it couldn't be AS BAD AS I'VE HEARD for the game to have received so many accolades and for people to still praise it in the same breath as saying how broken the gunplay is.

Well..............it is as bad as I've heard. Actually worse. Because it could possibly be a game ender.

It breaks up the game and the story so jauntingly. Even more so than that horrid Jet Ski portion. I hope that is the only Jet Skiing this game makes you do. But yeah, I just turned the game off due to the relentless nonsensical arbitrary shooting portions that are just there to serve as a cheap tool to lengthen your game time.

Wave after wave after wave of bullet sponges. They soak them bullets up like air. Then you take a step, in some cases, no step at all is required, and then a whole other army of wonks come out. A MESS.

They flank you, they keep coming forward. Thus rendering your cover useless. It takes just one or two shots for Drake to come close to death. The screen goes white and you can't see a thing. You can't do anything but wait and hope something doesn't take you out while you stand there blinded by the light. Hoping the green scenery comes back in time for you to shoot or run for cover. Cover that gets blown up, leaving you out in the open to rinse and repeat.