Bonemeal2pointOh

Sleep enthusiast
Jan 26, 2003
Mt. Perdition, Gallifrey
So, I got F1 2011 a couple days ago, but I've some questions. The most-recent Formula 1 game I'd played prior to F1 2011 was F1 2009 for PSP. In the PSP version, the crew chief gave instructions on how to improve performance. I don't seem to get that, here. I have "Pit Assist" on, but I don't notice anything different when it's on or off. Could someone please tell me what Pit Assist actually does? Also, in F1 2009, best sectors/laps were indicated in green, and being slower would be indicated in red. All I'm seeing is purple and red. What's that about? Is purple the fastest, or just provisionally the fastest?

Next, what's the best way to tune the car so I don't have to brake so hard in turns? I tried adjusting the suspension, and - assuming red means "off-pace," why is it I just go slower? Is it because I have TCS on full?

Lastly, I'm still a little new to the sport, so there are things I haven't quite figured out, yet. When - and where on the track - should I engage the DRS? I've watched F1 on Speed, here in the States, for a couple years, now, but they do a lousy job of explaining these things...

Kanejr00

Retired IGN Mod
Jun 17, 2004
USA
Bonemeal2pointOh said:
So, I got F1 2011 a couple days ago, but I've some questions. The most-recent Formula 1 game I'd played prior to F1 2011 was F1 2009 for PSP. In the PSP version, the crew chief gave instructions on how to improve performance. I don't seem to get that, here. I have "Pit Assist" on, but I don't notice anything different when it's on or off. Could someone please tell me what Pit Assist actually does?
Pit Assist only assists you in entering and exiting pit lane. I always keep Pit Assist off, because if you have it on then it just slows you down and you lose valuable time on the pit lane. If you want to be effective then learn and memorize every circuit's pit lane so you can improve your time and gain an edge.

Bonemeal2pointOh said: