Aug 6, 2003
So I am a series newb, Awakening is my first FE game, and I believe I am getting to the point where I am gonna be switching people's classes and what not. Most of my main group is near level 10.

My main reason for posting this is to get some tips on how to go about handling/building the characters and any traps I should try to avoid. Also maybe some tips on making money and forging? Like is it worth it to forge at all?

Thanks in advance.

YourVeryOwnGeek

Hey kid, I'm a computer.
Jun 11, 2007
Get a unit as close to level 20 as you can before promoting. Units gain less exp after they promote, so levels come slower. Keep in mind it gets easier to tune up any units you may have promoted incorrectly farther into the game, so while there are some no brainers like Hero > Bow Knight, a quick Second Seal will turn a unit with a bad class into a good one for 2500 gold.

As for forging, it's usually not worth sinking the gold into weak or low-use weapons, but if you have the gold I suggest forging a good sword for a Mercenary with the Armsthrift skill. I forged a Silver Sword for Donnel about 3 chapters before the endgame, and he's still swinging it through all of my postgame maps. If you want gold, I suggest paying for The Golden Gaffe DLC. It's just absurd how much gold you get from that easy map.

Apr 25, 2013