inner blog banner Gameloft
Gameloft Culture

Humans Behind the Game: Csenge Csabai, Gameplay Programmer

Posted on: September 10, 2021
214
21.3k

Csenge Csabai, Gameplay Programmer, has been a gamer ever since she was a child. But her love for them went beyond just playing—she wanted to know how they worked.

This love and curiosity led her to study computer software engineering and eventually to us at Gameloft Budapest!

Learn more about her career and the advice she has for other women interested in programming and game development below!

Hi, Csenge! Tell us about yourself.

Hey, I'm Csenge. My adventure in game development started almost 2 years ago when I joined Gameloft Budapest.

I've been a fan of video games since I was a child. When I was around seven years old, I spent most of my time playing on consoles, and even then, my attention was strongly drawn to what a game was made of and how it could be improved.

I’ve always liked games that required strong problem solving skills, and with time, I started working on automatic game-solving algorithms. I even spent a few years studying these techniques in college.

Outside of work and games, I love traveling and reading and watching crime books and shows—my absolute favorite is Poirot by Agatha Christie. I also have a beautiful cat who always puts a smile on my face.

 

Csenge Csabai Gameplay Programmer gameloft budapest cat
Csenge's adopted cat, Berci.



What is your role, and what do you enjoy most about your job?

I'm a gameplay programmer, previously on Disney Getaway Blast and now on a new, unannounced project.

I feel very lucky to work in the gaming industry because it has been my dream job since I was 15 years old, and after almost 2 years, I still feel very grateful to be here and to work with these amazing and talented people.

Problem solving has always been my passion, so I really enjoy implementing interesting features from which I can learn a lot.

 

Csenge Csabai Gameplay Programmer gameloft budapest
Besides problem solving, Csenge also likes to travel, and one of her favorite trips was to Sarajevo.



What are some of your most memorable moments at Gameloft?

It was when we released Disney Getaway Blast worldwide.

It was naturally a slightly more stressful period as we wanted to release a “perfect” game, but I will always remember the excited mood that surrounded our team.

I had my first bigger task implemented in that build, and it was really exciting for me to see it to go live.

 

Csenge Csabai Gameplay Programmer gameloft budapest gamedevday
Csenge representing Gameloft at the GameDevDay Academy.



What advice do you have for people, but especially women, who want to work in gaming in a similar role?

As a woman and a programmer, I had to face a lot of challenges throughout my career that often made me wonder if I really wanted to do this.

Meeting other female developers finally made me feel like I belong, so I think it's very important for us to stick together and find role models for ourselves.

If you are a woman and want to work as a programmer in gaming, you will need to be curious and brave. Don't forget to study hard, and just go for it. We need you!

Like Csenge said—we need you! The gaming industry can’t change without you and other people from various backgrounds, so check out our job opportunities in our studios around the world here. Stay tuned for another edition of Humans Behind the Game!


Share
facebooklinkedintwitter