Proctor’s AJ Reyelts Hopeful to Hear Name Called at NHL Draft

Reyelts is currently 28th in the 2024 draft prospects rankings for North American goalies.

PROCTOR, Minn.- Proctor goaltender A.J. Reyelts is no stranger to drafts. He’s heard his name called in the NAHL and most recently in the USHL draft.

This weekend, he’s hoping to add NHL draftee to that list.

Reyelts is currently 28th in the 2024 draft prospects rankings for North American goalies.

And if he’s picked, he’s expected to go on Day 2 on Saturday.

Reyelts, who led the Rails to the 7A semifinals, says just being in the conversation of being selected is so exciting for him.

“It’s a huge honor to be on that list and to be even considered for this draft. I mean obviously I still think there’s a lot of work to do and still ways to improve. But it’s cool to see where I’m at and where I rank with the other goalies around and where I need to be if I don’t get drafted. How much better I need to get. I’m super honored to be on that list and to even be in consideration of the draft, it’s super cool,” said Reyelts.

Reyelts admits there’s a high chance that he won’t be picked but that will only fuel him.

“It’s not going to be super dissapointing if I don’t get picked this weekend. Just because it kind of seems like a longshot. I haven’t played a lot of junior games and that’s kind of what they base it a lot of it off in junior and college stuff. If I don’t get picked this weekend, it’ll just be motivation to get better and improve for next year’s,” added Reyelts.

Reyelts plans to play for the Cedar Rapids Roughriders this upcoming season.

The draft begins Friday in Las Vegas and wraps up on Saturday.

Categories: High School, Sports