The Sims 4 Kits Let's Build

The Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover: From Cheap to Exquisite!

2.3k Views
Sims 4 Modern Luxe Kit Room

We made over a drab bedroom with the Modern Luxe Kit!

Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover

The latest contemporary luxury kit for The Sims 4 was so decadent, we just had to test it out for ourselves with a Sims 4 Modern Luxe makeover! Much like our last kit makeover, we took a bare bones, hideous base game room and transformed it into something beautiful using the new content! This kit is absolutely gorgeous so it wasn’t hard to transform the space into something elegant.

We’ve got two different Sims 4 Modern Luxe makeover styles for you, brought to you by Sims Community staff members, SnarkyWitch and Krista, respectively!

The Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover

See how we made over a boring, tacky base game bedroom and turned it into two different Modern Luxe styles!

The Before

Would you want to rest your head here? We wouldn’t, either. Nothing about this bedroom says rest and relaxation. It definitely needs a major overhaul, but luckily, there are no shortage of creative Simmers and no shortage of Sims 4 content that can help this drab, outdated bedroom look fabulous!

Let’s get started turning this terrible bedroom into a luxurious escape from the stresses of the world! We paired the Modern Luxe Kit with a few other packs to pull off the following designs.

Pampered Princess

2023 09 08 10 37 36 764 ellanora by ellcrze

One of my favourite things about the Modern Luxe kit is the colour palette. It’s not just 50 shades of beige like so many bland contemporary kits. There’s a lovely variety of colourful pastels and I am a huge fan of colour. I decided to design a bedroom for a pampered princess type of Sim and their equally pampered feline companion.

Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover

I didn’t touch the windows or the shape of the room, but I did completely gut the space and replaced the doors. Then I got to work redesigning the room in soft shades of pastel pink and elegant rose gold. I absolutely love the dreamy look of the blush pink paired with gold. It’s very delicate and whimsical.

No pampered princess bedroom is complete without a vanity table so I added one with some makeup clutter and a minimalist gold cat statue in honour of the feline friend who also calls this room home. I put a circular rug in the centre of the room and filled out the space a little more with an armchair next to a small cat bed. I can’t get enough of the accent pillows that come with this kit because I can do a lot with them. As you can see above, I placed one on the floor and on the armchair.

The walk-in closet is such a useful space to tuck away a dresser and some clothing clutter but those bulky curtains and wide archway took up too much space. I used a smaller archway to maximize space inside the closet area and I also replaced the dark purple curtains with more delicate looking pastel pink curtains from this kit. Inside the closet, I put the full length leaning wall mirror from this kit along with the dresser. I finished off the space with some base game closet clutter, some artwork, and the Modern Luxe record player and bust statue. Because everyone wants some good tunes while they get ready for the day, right?

All that was left for this Sims 4 Modern Luxe makeover was some decorative touches, like the bookshelf, the glass shelf over the vanity, a few light fixtures, and some more artwork! Of course, kitty has a scratch post that still looks good in this elegant space, too.

Sleek But Cosy

This shell is in desperate need of a Modern Luxe makeover! Nothing about the original room screamed comfortable and cosy, and just felt like it was missing a little something. Instantly, I had an idea in my head as to how I could rescue this room.

My inspiration, cosy autumnal vibes but with a sleek twist! Let’s see if I can recreate this idea using the new The Sims 4 Modern Luxe Kit and a few others too!

First things first, it was time to work with a blank canvas and figure out the colour scheme. I didn’t want to go with lots of brighter colours, instead I was going to opt for the darker/more neutral swatches within the new Kit! I also left both the windows and doors the same as the initial shell.

Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover

The sleep area was the first area I worked on. Even though I was going for a cosy feel, I wanted to keep the room more on the minimalistic side where I could. The last thing I wanted was an over cluttered room.

I ended up combining the likes of Get Famous, High School Years, Dream Home Decorator, Book Nook and Modern Luxe to gain the overall look. Opting for more green and blue colours to work alongside the objects from Modern Luxe.

To add to the sleek yet cosy feel of this Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover, I created a small yet simple reading nook. Without it being too overwhelming, this would be the perfect way to wind down with a good book at the end of a busy day!

TS4 x64 2023 09 10 18 50 46

As for the closet area, I placed the open wardrobes from High School Years, a standalone mirror and the new dresser (along with the vinyl record player) from the new Kit. Slowly but surely this Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover was coming together.

Just outside the closet area, I wanted a small vanity area with another full sized mirror as well as a little more decor.

Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover

Despite trying out a number of different ideas. Scrapping them all and starting over with different ideas, I do like how this turned out. There was, at one point, a completely different idea altogether that you could say gave an almost Hannah Montana feel instead.

Overall, this Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover was great fun to do and made me build in a way I wouldn’t do normally! The new objects provide endless possibilities and combinations for use, especially when paired with other The Sims 4 packs! I can definitely say I feel I achieved the sleek and cosy feel for this room makeover!

Download These Sims 4 Modern Luxe Makeover Rooms!

If you loved one or both of these Sims 4 Modern Luxe makeover styles, they’re available in the Gallery and use no CC. Search for Pampered Princess under the ID SnarkyWitch and Sleek but Cosy under the ID Leekseverywhere to grab these room makeovers! Or, you can click the download buttons below to save them to your library.

And if you want to try your hand at redecorating our drab base game room, too, search Modern Luxe Makeover under the ID Leekseverywhere or click the download button!


Did our Sims 4 Modern Luxe makeover inspire you? Experiment with creating custom beds using items from Horse Ranch!

About the author

Krista

Hey, I'm Krista! Long time Simmer and Sims Community Staff.

End of content

No more pages to load

Next page