The Sims 4 Guides �� Let's Build The Sims 4 Kits

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

5.2k Views
TS4 x64 2022 09 15 14 36 11

It’s time to build again!

It’s been a little while since I’ve properly sat down and built anything in game. In fact, most of my building recently has been more just swapping objects out for others that I prefer. However, with the release of The Sims 4 Desert Luxe build Kit, I found myself looking forward to building a little outdoor pool area for my Sims.

After a little bit of trial and error, getting frustrated with things not coming together how I imagined, I scrapped everything I had built and started with a clean lot. Instead of trying to overcomplicate the idea I had in my head, I went back to keeping it simple.

My aim was to incorporate each of the new items from the Kit into an outdoor area for my Sims. Due to the colour swatches of the new items with them being more neutral, I knew it would allow me to add pops of colour here and there if I wanted to.

As I was previously playing in Windenburg, I decided to swap over to a smaller vacant lot for the purpose of this build. In fact, the finished room could be placed in any world and any sized lot.

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

With the basic layout now finally settled on. I knew that I could start experimenting where I wanted to place different objects.

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

Originally I had decided to build with curved walls as I hadn’t really explored or built with them too much since they were added to the game. I only removed them because after placing a number of objects, it didn’t really sit right with what I had in mind.

Now, that I had experimented with some more ideas, I started working on the most important part and adding the objects from The Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit where I actually wanted them. Again, my aim was to keep this outdoor area simple and not overcomplicated.

I broke the room down into three areas so that I could showcase all the new objects in the build.

Firstly was a small cosy area where my Sims could just relax and catch up with friends or read the latest blockbuster novel!

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit
Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

The next was a small bar area where Sims could work on their Mixology Skills.

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

The last area was two sun loungers that overlooked the pool area where Sims could work on their tans and relax after a long day.

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

Honestly, I enjoyed creating this small room build. I usually lean towards using a lot of colour in my builds, but this time going with the more neutral colours that came with the pack with the odd bit of colour here and there really worked well.

While I don’t love or hate the new objects, they are definitely ones that I can see myself using more in future builds. I can definitely see them being used alongside objects from The Sims 4 Spa Day and possibly The Sims 4 Island Living for a more luxury feel to your Sims beach side homes.

One object that I want to mention is the new Tiny Spot of Light object. Initially I thought it was a light that would be similar to the smaller ceiling spotlights, but was in fact pleasantly surprised that it works just about anywhere other than the ceiling! Whether you are just placing it straight on the floor or on an object, it was one object that surprised me with just how versatile it is!

There are just so many different ways, I’m sure this little light will work both in and out of sight in future builds!

Let’s Build with the new Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit

I could definitely see myself hanging out here with my friends after a long day at work, enjoying the company and the sunshine!

This Desert Luxe inspired Outdoor Pool Area is available to download from The Gallery right now. It uses items from The Sims 4 Base Game and The Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit!

To download, simply search for Gallery ID of Leekseverywhere, and then you will find the Desert Luxe Pool Area build within the shared builds!

Want to find out more about The Sims 4 Desert Luxe Kit, and what comes with it? Make sure you check out our handy Kit overview!

About the author

Krista

Hey, I'm Krista! Long time Simmer and Sims Community Staff.

End of content

No more pages to load

Next page