The Sims 4 Guides Let's Build The Sims 4 Custom Content

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

5.8k Views
TS4 x64 2022 05 29 15 25 56

Live from the set of High School Musical 2

With Summer just around the corner for many of us, it’s time to create the perfect Pool Space for our Sims!

Not only was the idea of Summer an inspiration for this build, but also the Cool Pools Custom Content Kit by Mr Olkan.

To start with, I needed to find the perfect place to build the Pool Hangout. I settled on using the Sandtrap Flat lot in Oasis Springs!

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

While the lot is not the largest, it still offered me plenty of space to build the ultimate Pool Hangout for my Sims! One of the things I wanted to try and avoid was making the lot feel overwhelmed and cluttered. This is where it took me a little time to figure out which of the custom pool shapes I wanted to use from the Cool Pools Custom Content Kit, as well as where I wanted to place it.

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

After some trial and error, I eventually settled on not only which pool type I wanted to use, but where I wanted to place it on the lot. Creating the pool was straight forward. Once the Custom Pool shape was placed, I was able to use the Custom Pool Tool to trace the outline of the pool inline with the model the Mr Olkan created.

From there I was able to roughly place where the toilets and shower area would be placed so that it fulfilled the Pool Lot Type requirements.

This is where the fun could start. Now that I had somewhat settled on where I wanted to place the core aspects of the lot, I could start to bring the lot to life!

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

Slowly but surely the back half of the lot was starting to take shape. Alongside using Mr Olkan’s Cool Pools Custom Content Kit, I wanted to incorporate aspects of his Better Pools Custom Content Collection as well!

It took a couple of hours, but eventually I finished filling the rest of the lot. I do have to admit, I struggled at times knowing what to put in the empty space, but now that I’ve finished it I do like how it has come together.

Take a look at the gallery below to see the finished Pool Hangout!

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit
Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit
Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit
Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

I have to say that while I love how the build came together, there are aspects that I would change or have done differently. One of these would be to try and build more out of my comfort zone and not be afraid to try different building techniques. I would also probably use a different pool model from the Cool Pools Custom Content Kit instead next time to a different one, as well as choosing an alternative empty lot in Sulani instead.

My favourite area of this Pool Hangout has to be where the decked area is just behind the pool itself. I wanted to create a slightly separate space that could be used for day to day use or hypothetically for an event or party. Using a combination of in game items and items from Mr Olkan’s Better Pools Collection, it came together perfectly.

Building with The Sims 4 Cool Pools CC Kit

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed using Mr Olkan’s Cool Pools and Better Pools Custom Content while creating this Summer Pool Hangout! I can’t wait for my Sims to spend their Summer hanging out with friends, having fun and enjoying a swim!

What would your ultimate Pool Hangout look like? Let us know in the comments below!

About the author

Krista

Hey, I'm Krista! Long time Simmer and Sims Community Staff.

End of content

No more pages to load

Next page