Anna DeShawn: “Family, Happy Pride 🌈”

Anna, pronouns anything respectful, is a social entrepreneur, storyteller and community organizer. She is a multi-award winning podcast host/producer who builds streaming platforms which center & celebrate BIPOC & QTPOC creatives. Anna was inducted into the Chicago LGBTQ Hall of Fame because of her commitment to the queer community. Anna is determined to ride media into its next era by utilizing digital media streams to tell the stories and play the music that deserves to be heard.

Learn more about her work here.


Family, Happy Pride 🌈 This month is all about celebrating our beautiful LGBTQ+ community. We deserve to smile, laugh, and be filled with unapologetic joy. This is our time! And what better way to celebrate than by amplifying our voices? Storytelling gives us a window into someone else’s humanity and ours is under attack. That’s why I’m excited to share some dope podcasts I believe do this incredibly well. I think you might just find yourself adding a few into your rotation. Enjoy! 

Queer News

I produce and host this podcast because LGBTQ folks and our comrades deserve a brave space to hear news that centers them. I keep it relevant and I keep it short. Creating this podcast has brought me a lot of joy and I hope it can do the same for you. 

Second Sunday

Telling the stories of Black Queer folks who grew up in the Black Christian church has never been done this way. I’m so proud of the stories we get to tell. Being a part of this podcast is a real honor. 

Black HIV in the South: How Did We Get Here?

HIV is still very real and still very present in Black and Brown communities. I wanted to share that and amplify the hope that exists because of the medical advances of today. This is the first podcast we released on The Qube and was brought to life by a 100% Black woman team.

Bad Queers

Shana and Kris are just awesome and I love the Bad Queer opinion segment the most. Def get into this. 

TransLash Podcast with Imara Jones

Imara Jones is a beacon of light and her work deserves to be binged.

Queue Points 

Jay Ray & DJ Sir Daniel are the perfect tandem. Their collective musical knowledge makes this podcast a must listen. 

The Spark 

DJ Tricey Trice has her pulse on women’s basketball and the LA Sparks in particular. If you want to stay up on The Sparks and the WNBA this is a great podcast to get into it. 

I’m Feeling Queer Today!

First person storytelling is my jam and I love hearing from young queer folks about their lived experiences. I promise, you will learn something new.

The Queer Family Podcast

Starting a family is hard and starting a queer family is even harder. Jaimie does a masterful job bringing queer family stories to the front. 

AfroQueer

This is a pod where you will hear stories you have never heard before. If that interests you definitely hit play and share it with a friend.