29th Sep2022

‘AEW: Dark’ Review (Sep 27th 2022)

by Phil Wheat

Another week, another episode of AEW: Dark which, after the incredibly short Elevation, is a whopping 11-match card! Let’s just say I prefer the shorter shows… So on with the review!

Match #1: Fuego Del Sol def. Jay Malachi

My Thoughts: After what seems like spending ages working the indies, AEW’s Fuego Del Sol is back on the company’s programming! In a match that was actually one of Fuego’s best for the company – with no overuse of gimmicks, just two guys going at it in a great wrestling match.

My Score: 3 out of 5

Match #2: Leila Gray def. Tiara James

My Thoughts: If ever there was an example of the typical AEW quasi-squash match, this was it. And that was all this was TBH.

My Score: 1.5 out of 5

Match #3: Jeeves Kay def. Gus De La Vega

My Thoughts: The Trustbusters valet gets a match. And much like regular Trustbusters matches I couldn’t give a cr*p about this match. Which is for the best as the match was cr*p.

My Score: 0 out of 5

Match #4: Jora Johl def. Blake Li

My Thoughts: Jora Johl seems to have been left behind in the HFO/AHFO shuffle but judging by this match he’s still using his time in AEW to get better at his craft – which is the case for a LOT of “green” talent in AEW… you at least see them progress. Unlike some other companies!

My Score: 2.5 out of 5

Match #5: Anna Jay def. Kelly Madan

My Thoughts: Another women’s match, another quasi-squash match. I don’t know what’s going on in the women’s division but these squash matches need to stop.

My Score: 1.5 out of 5

Match #6: Ryan Nemeth def. Arjun Singh

My Thoughts: Ryan Nemeth gets a win? What, has hell frozen over?! This was a surprising win for Nemeth, even if this was just a step above the typical AEW quasi-squash!

My Score: 2 out of 5

Match #7: Leon Ruffin def. Bshp King

My Thoughts: And we’re back into ALMOST quasi-squash territory again (that’s two in a row!) with Ruffin eventually getting the win over King, who was the unknown factor going into this match but who proved himself enough to impress the audience, who seemingly were behind him more than Ruffin!

My Score: 2.5 out of 5

Match #8: Angelico def. Caleb Konley

My Thoughts: This was a decent match and one that proved Angelico has been underutilised in AEW for far too long. Like Johl he got lost in the HFO/AHFO shuffle… Hopefully his recent appearances are only the start of a new run.

My Score: 2.5 out of 5

Match #9: The Renegade Twins def. Mila Moore & Mylo

My Thoughts: Squash-tastic! The Renegade Twins get to pick up a win and do it in VERY decisive fashion.

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #10: Nick Comoroto def. Shaheem Ali

My Thoughts: This was pretty much a retread of every singles match Comoroto has had in AEW. And whilst this type of repetitive match worked for the likes of Wardlow, unfortunately Comoroto doesn’t have the fan support the current TNT champ has.

My Score: 1 out of 5

Match #11: Dante Martin def. Anthony Henry

My Thoughts: As to be expected this was a great match. Martin is always fun to watch and always delivers. But on the other hand there’s a reason Anthony Henry is in a tag team called The Workhorsemen… He’s a workhorse and can match wrestlers pound for pound, move for move. This one led to a tag team challenge for Martin and Sydal versus the Workhorsemen. Which at least gets me excited for next weeks show!

My Score: 3 out of 5

Final Verdict: 2.5/5

Off

Comments are closed.